Skip to content

Memories as Art.

June 20, 2011

I write to remember. I write to see myself more clearly. I write so my children will know who I am. I write to show my love. I write because I cannot stop. I write even when it’s hard to write. And when I cannot write with words, I write in photos.

I couldn’t have put this better myself.This is why I keep diaries journals. This is exactly why.
This time, I’m showing you my more recent journals. Along the way I’ve started to add things like train tickets, pictures, etc, and they have evolved into more of an art jounral/scrapbook. And now I love them even more.
And, they take more interesting photos!
This first one is the tenth diary I’ve kept, and probably one of my top three in terms of book (along with my first ever: the purple velvet covered one, and the ‘book’ book coming up).
I bought it from paperchase. I love all the material covered journals in there, the embroidery and colours on them make them magical to me. This one has little birds, flowers and fruit on it.
It’s the last journal I actually bought.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Below is a mini card my (beautifully lovely) sister sent to me a while back:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
The next few are ‘themed’ pages I had the idea to do after looking at some art journals on the internet.
A bit different from my usual long ‘prose’, but this will be nice to look back on.
I remember sitting in Fino Lounge with my then boyfriend, on the sofa in the sun, to write these.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
The little ladybird and flower above were made out of fimo at my friend Hannah’s, before getting some fimo myself to begin dollmaking!
.
.
.
..
.
.
.
.
That was some illuminati writing, right there.
Did you notice it on my bit of sewing recently?
A lot can be done with my name, seeing as it’s only 3 letters long.
Amy: am, my, a, yma (‘here’ in welsh..), yam..
shhh.
.
.
These are from a little book I made from my trip to Italy last summer.
.
.
That’s an oil pastel drawing I made sat on the lake beach (:
And some rather scruffy, quickly scribbled drawings below, from St Mark’s Square.
.
.
.
This next one was an oversized address book my mum had bought me for Christmas some years back, because I love fairies. However, I’ve always found a mini book, or in fact my phone, more useful. I kept it because it was pretty and decided to use it as a diary. I hate the colour lilac, but apart from that I really like this one. There were cute baby fairy photos throughout too, as you can see.
.
.
.
.
.
That’s my birthday, above (:
..
.
.
.

The final journal to show you today (I’ll show you photos of my current one sometime soon) is a new idea I had, from doing art foundation and A level probably. I’ve always loved keeping sketchbooks- this was probably my favourite thing in art. My ex’s dad was having a sort-out and was going to chuck away a heap of old books- I saved them..

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

..

.

I think this book is perfectly named:
‘Odd Moments’

Don’t you think?

To write on the pages I first tried covering the writing in white acrylic paint- but this doesnt like being written on.

I started to cover up the writing with masking tape (which when peeled off, takes some of the writing with it- I must remember to take a photo of this for you- to write on. This is nice because you can faintly see the old writing underneath. I’ve also written around the margins on some pages and saved passages of text I like.
Of course, I also carried on sticking things in, and writing on top. I’ve also stuck in bits and bobs I’ve found from ‘times gone by’, that I’ve been hanging on to.

This one seems to have had the most attention when I take it out and about with me.

But I dont usually let people see inside!

I’m starting to draw more and more in my journals, and might turn them into ‘proper’ art journals, but I still find writing it the most important thing for me, so I’ll keep that too.

Keep tuned for updates on my current jounal!
Do you keep one?

Leave a Reply

