Skip to content

Inspiration Foundations

July 16, 2011

I have a heap of beautiful, inspirational photos and pictures saved on my computer, in an ‘inspiration’ folder.

It’s kinda like a tumblr, although I don’t have one of those.
(I do see why they are appealing but I don’t want to add yet another thing to update in my life, especially online!)

I’m going to be blogging these one theme at a time.
(I’ll also be sharing those sites saved in my favourites bar)

When I’m done I’ll have an inspiration post weekly or at least fortnightly.
This way it’ll also be a lot easier to keep track on where the images come from.
(For that, I apologise. If you know, PLEASE tell me in the comments).

This time, I’m showing you other people’s artwork. I have the names of some of the artists, some others can be read within the photo
and I apologise profusely for those unnamed artists.
Please do not steal their work. Treat them as copywrighted and use them for inspirational purposes only.

These are from the Art Foundation Diploma that I studied at, in Cardiff at UWIC. Exhibitions are years 2010 and 2011.

These first few are sketchbooks (I think by the same person).
I love sketchbooks. Absolutely love them. Easily the best part of Art A level for me.
Probably the main reason I’m so into diaries now.

 Above and below: I love how (she?) combines beautiful drawings with writings and textures.
The borders around the artwork (s)he’s referencing are a nice way to make a page more aesthetic.

(That fabric is my dress ^)

Above: By Ruth Hepburn (I hope)
I really love the intricacy of these cutout pieces, their illustrative effect and the way they are used as windows to the graphics behind.
The sketchbook also looks pretty cool (;

Below: By Louise Thomas
I like this for similar reasons. The time and effort it took to cut these out (I’m assuming with a scalpel) was worth it.

Both of these inspire me to do some book art, make an engraving, 3d picture etc. And that story (see my ‘checklist’ in the top bar).
For you: have a look at Peter Callesen. (Likely to feature in a later post). His paper art is amazing.

I dont know who this is by (anyone??)
But again- a sketchbook.
And I love embroidered illustration. I believe this is an example. (2010 picture)
At some point in the near future, I’m going to whip out my sewing machine and do some of this.
(More examples of embroidered illustration coming up in a future inspiration post.)

I really like this sculpture in the middle.
That optical illusion thing is pretty cool as a 3d model.
And I love the words, they’re poetic and phenomological.
(Yeah, that’s a big word. I learnt it this year during my architecture degree. Look it up.)

TREES. YES.

LIVE (ish). TREE. INDOORS.
HELL YEAH.

There’s something about these that weirds me out a little, but also inspires me to try and paint a face for the first time in years.

This is so cute (:
It was so little in person.
Also inspires me to paint.
There’s a heap of canvasses upstairs…

This is a shoddy photo. Pretty cool sculpture thing though.

Very architectural (;

Lovely little paintings. Beautiful colours.
Nature.
Paint, Amy, PAINT!

Again with the embroidered illlustrations.
I also love children.
(This is maternity wear)

And again below.

Beautiful illustrations.
Paint.

Dovile Surpyte

Now. I’m not heavily into fashion, but one thing I would love to be able to do well is fashion illustration.
I have done a bit, but these are fab. Look at those faces!
(I’m going to have to put my portfolio up on here at some point, aren’t I?)

What do you like from above?
What inspires you?
What type of art is yours?

Keep tuned for some more inspiration (:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 1:17 pm

    Such pretty images, Amy! Have you thought about starting a pinterest? It’s a great visual way to organize things you find online that captivate you!

    • July 18, 2011 5:51 pm

      Thank you! Keep checking back, i’ll be uploading more posts like this! Yeah- thought about a pinterest, it’s a good idea but as with the tumblr thing I dont want to be adding more things to update to my life just yet! I’ll finish uploading these and as the weeks go by I may start one up! However, if I upload them on my blog it’s an easier way to share and I can also relocate them through my categories.. we’ll see! Thanks very much for your comment and suggestion! Always welcome! x

    • July 28, 2011 12:20 pm

      I’ve had a bit of a rethink and am on the way to getting pinterest- thank you! It’s a much better, quicker, more copyright way of organising inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

