Skip to content

Inspiration: Paper

July 28, 2011

There is so much you can do with paper.

Papier Mache
Origami
Drawings
Cutouts
Books
… you get the idea.

I love the simplicity of a piece of white paper and the opportunities it gives for creativity. A clean slate.
I suppose that’s partly the appeal of minimalism.

Continuing with my ‘inspiration folders’ (please click on the tab for more) here is what I’d like to try with paper.
Again, I’m afraid I can’t remember where everything came from, so please tell me if you know (:

Jointed ‘cut out dolls’ by Mulberry. Remember the paper dolls you can hook little paper clothes over?
I was named after one of those my mum had when she was small (:

.

Illustration, basically. I love it. I should do some more.

.

 Just a lovely, simple, effective pen and watercolour.

.

I LOVE THIS.
Alice in Wonderland.
And I love book art.
It’s so beautiful and dainty (:
I might try something like this in my diary.

.

Origami. Unicorn.
Enough said.

.

Very simple, just colouring in the gaps – but what a pretty effect!

.

Again with the illustration thing.
Plus it’s a cupcake.
And an owl.

.

Ooooh, pretty lettering.
I’m a bit rubbish at lettering so this is some good inspiration for me.

.

Quilling, ooooh.

.

These (above and below) are by a lecturer in my uni.
How to make architectural drawings pretty, basically.
.

Just beautiful.

.

Another reminder that I need to draw more often.

.

How. Amazing. Is. This????

.

Grayson Perry.
Fashion Illustration.
Something else I love that I never do!

.

I have these (above and below) saved as GWH- a reference to the name.
I love love love sketchbooks.
Any sort of book really.
And any sort of art.
So for me, this is perfect! Look how beautiful these paintings combined with embroidery and lettering are!

 .

Simple, yet effective. This is the top of writing paper I believe.

Reminds me of primary school (:

.


Simple and pretty- I think musical paper instantly makes things even nicer too (:

.

Beautiful illustration. I like the effect of all the thin lines.

.

My friend who I shall refer to as ‘Lozzy’ from my course drew these.
Just lovely.

.

This is from the gallery on ‘A Donna Thing’.
Paint, Amy, Paint!

.

.

Finally, Peter Callesen. Simple to look at but amazing.

 .

.

Which are your favourites?
What/who is your inspiration?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

